Apple staff reportedly warned of tight iPhone Duo walk-in supply as online orders stay open
MacRumors says some retail employees were told to discourage launch-day walk-ins without pre-orders. Apple has said it will keep accepting online orders despite delivery estimates extending into January.

Walk-in availability uncertain
Some Apple retail employees have been told to discourage shoppers from arriving for an iPhone Duo without a pre-order on launch day, MacRumors reported Saturday. The report cited store employees who said they had been advised that walk-in stock would likely be unavailable when the device launches Friday, October 23.[2]
That account is not an Apple announcement that every store will have no devices. In a company statement reported by Bloomberg and reproduced by The Verge, Apple said it would continue taking online orders. It did not disclose whether shoppers without pre-orders would be able to buy a phone in stores at launch.[5]
PreviouslyPokémon Beats Pill speaker with Pikachu and Mimikyu goes on sale Oct. 15 for $149.99
Orders continue despite long delivery estimates
Apple opened pre-orders October 16 at 5 a.m. Pacific time through its website and Apple Store app. MacRumors reported that by about 5:30 a.m., the U.S. store showed January 25 delivery for all listed color and storage combinations. The Verge separately observed late-January estimates less than an hour after ordering began.[1][3][4]
Those dates describe what the outlets observed Friday, not a promise about a checkout estimate today. Availability can differ by order time and configuration. A later delivery date also does not mean pre-orders have stopped: Apple's statement explicitly said it would continue accepting online orders.[3][4][5]
Demand statement does not disclose supply
Apple described pre-order demand as "extraordinary" in the statement carried by The Verge, but did not provide a unit total. MacRumors noted that shipping estimates reflect both supply and demand and that the amount available on the first day was unknown. The length of the queue alone cannot establish how many phones were ordered.[3][5]
The Duo is Apple's first foldable iPhone. Apple's launch material describes an inner screen for multitasking and an outer display for use while the device is closed, with ordering available through its own storefronts. The company promoted delivery and pickup options without guaranteeing that every customer would receive a launch-day unit.[1]
Pickup remains the next availability question
MacRumors reported that pickup reservations were briefly available when pre-orders opened before the option was disabled, with shoppers told to check again October 24. Its Saturday staff report repeats that timing. Whether stock is available for a particular store or customer remains unresolved ahead of launch.[2][3]
The immediate distinction is between ordering a phone and securing one on October 23. Online ordering continues, while the reported delivery backlog and employee guidance point to constrained early availability. Confirmed store allocations or a new public availability announcement would provide the next substantive update.[2][3][5]
Sources
- Apple Newsroom: Open up to new possibilities with iPhone Duo 2026-10-15
- MacRumors: Apple Retail Staff Told to Warn Against iPhone Duo Walk-In Purchases 2026-10-17
- MacRumors: Didn't Pre-Order an iPhone Duo Yet? Wait Times Are Significant Now 2026-10-16
- The Verge: iPhone Duo orders are already delayed into 2027 2026-10-16
- The Verge, citing an Apple statement to Bloomberg: Apple says iPhone Duo preorder demand has been extraordinary 2026-10-16
Spotted an error? Report a correction. Read how we work.